Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    21

    Unanswered: Global variable - how to edit?

    Another question James. Can you tell me how can I edit an global variable .
    It is very easy to edit or to change a local variable into global but it s different for an global variable.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    New question new thread please. Its the way a forum like this works.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    21

    to edit global variable

    Another question James. Can you tell me how can I edit an global variable .It is very easy to edit or to change a local variable into global but it s different for an global variable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    This is fastastic James!
    - Christian

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    Humm... When I need to edit a global I delete it and its change in a local. Then I rename a local or change the formula and I turn in a public (global) again.
    - Christian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Quote Originally Posted by famstyle View Post
    Another question James. Can you tell me how can I edit an global variable .
    It is very easy to edit or to change a local variable into global but it s different for an global variable.
    If your talking about trying to convert a GLOBAL to a Local, that's not possible by using the same process as you can convert a LOCAL to a GLOBAL.

    LOCAL to GLOBAL is a one way street.

    You can only convert a GLOBAL to and from a STATIC.

    Is no big deal either way. Simply open your GLOBAL variable in the script designer and copy all it's lines of code to the clip board. Now delete the variable and create a new Local. Paste the lines of code into this.

    Takes only a few seconds.

    Regards
    James

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Quote Originally Posted by sgarbi View Post
    Humm... When I need to edit a global I delete it and its change in a local. Then I rename a local or change the formula and I turn in a public (global) again.
    - Christian
    Why are you deleting your variable when you can edit it's formula?

    The only time you need to delete a GLOBAL is if you no longer need it, or you want it to be a LOCAL.

    Regards
    James

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks for your answer but when I select my static variable the button edit is not enable. :-(. I want to edit my code (htlm) in my global variable . Unfortunatly Ihave not any copy .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    When you say you want to edit the htlm, what code are you referring to?

    If you have populated a variable with HTML code, and you want to use that HTML inside the variable in some way, then you should not be even trying to edit the Variable, you actually need a second one that pulls exactly what you want from your first variable.

    What is it your trying to do exactly ?

    Regards
    James

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    If your talking about trying to convert a GLOBAL to a Local, that's not possible by using the same process as you can convert a LOCAL to a GLOBAL.

    LOCAL to GLOBAL is a one way street.

    You can only convert a GLOBAL to and from a STATIC.

    A: Yes, you can turn GLOBAL in a LOCAL only use delete.


    Is no big deal either way. Simply open your GLOBAL variable in the script designer and copy all it's lines of code to the clip board. Now delete the variable and create a new Local. Paste the lines of code into this.

    Takes only a few seconds.

    A: Or use delete, edit the script and turn in a GLOBAL again.


    Why are you deleting your variable when you can edit it's formula?

    A: Change the name of the variable.


    The only time you need to delete a GLOBAL is if you no longer need it, or you want it to be a LOCAL.

    A: If you use same name in LOCAL as another form you will need to keep the variable.


    Christian

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    Dear famstyle,

    Could you share this application to understand what is happening?

    Christian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •