Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Server Monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17

    Unanswered: Server Monitor

    Hi all.
    Is it possible to get Server Monitor to load on bootup and re-enable a database in the event of some clown rebooting the PC?

    Regards
    James

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Depends on what version of Windows is hosting the database. If the Windows Scheduled Task (aka Jobs) supports a Startup Task, then I'd think that it would be relatively simple.

    -PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    I think James is looking for some kind a command line like:
    "BDB_SERVER.EXE -ADBServerMon c:\mydatabase.bdd" to start server monitor.

    But, in this case I think is not possible yet. May be it΄s a good idea to send to them. You know... The support "

    - Christian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Thanks guys.
    A mixture of what Pat is saying and a command line should do the trick.

    I've spent a few hours today on this with a fresh pair of eyes and it looks like this is certainly possible.

    I'm going to try now write an app with brilliant database that generates the necessary batch file to be loaded at start up now.

    If this works, I'll share my file.

    Regards
    James.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by Tubbritt View Post
    Thanks guys.
    A mixture of what Pat is saying and a command line should do the trick.

    I've spent a few hours today on this with a fresh pair of eyes and it looks like this is certainly possible.

    I'm going to try now write an app with brilliant database that generates the necessary batch file to be loaded at start up now.

    If this works, I'll share my file.

    Regards
    James.
    Please, let us know the results okay? Christian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    176
    Quote Originally Posted by Tubbritt View Post
    Thanks guys.
    A mixture of what Pat is saying and a command line should do the trick.

    I've spent a few hours today on this with a fresh pair of eyes and it looks like this is certainly possible.

    I'm going to try now write an app with brilliant database that generates the necessary batch file to be loaded at start up now.

    If this works, I'll share my file.

    Regards
    James.
    I use the attached batch file(copied to the start menu of the windows) to start the database and share it automatically.
    Find the below details to understand the batch file.
    My program name: asokDatabase v1.0 1
    user:thakur
    password:rthakur
    Sharing port:6421
    My BD file path is: D:\mr\MPP.sto
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by asokram; 08-31-13 at 03:16. Reason: Addiotional information

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Very good...!!!! Thank you.
    I was looking at the manual and there is a section in there for the command line. It seems that this part of the manual is completely wrong.

    It makes reference to ...
    BDB_Server.exe -user:Administrator# -password:zx432# -share C:\Mydb.bbd

    But that exe does not exist. There is a ADBServerMon.exe, that is Server Monitor, but when I sent it a command exactly as you had written yours, I get a runtime error.

    That's very interesting that you can call the actual database exe directly. I wouldn't have guessed that in a million years.

    Thank you very much. This will do perfectly.

    Kind regards
    James

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    And a light goes off in my head.
    Maybe the manual is right and BDB_Server.exe makes reference to the database exe in the Server Edition of Brilliant Database, and not the SDK or any Compiled Applications.

    Yes... now it makes sense. I was calling the wrong exe all a long.

    D'oh...!!!!

    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Regards
    James

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    53
    Hello James,
    Yes ideed! You are correct. The bdb_wp_engine.exe is the key!
    But, this bat file can load ADBServerMon too?

    - Christian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    But, this bat file can load ADBServerMon too?
    I had to contact Brilliant Database in the end. Using the command line you can launch your programs exe, and get it to login with a user name and password. You can even set the database to share but you cannot run server monitor.

    So that's kind of stupid to be honest.

    With that said, I've been looking for an alternative solution and I found a free program called ProcessAlive that can be used to monitor an exe. If the exe is close or it crashes, it will reload it. If the computer is restarted, it will still reload the exe.

    When you select the exe to monitor, there is an option to add a command line parameter. So can use it's command line to login, and share a database.

    ProcessAlive – Automatically restart crashed programs | SingularLabs

    My 2 cents, this is better than server monitor because it can be used to monitor every database your running on the server, where only one instance of server monitor is allowed on one machine and therefore only one program can be monitored.

    So, problem solved. Not directly, but the workaround is better than doing it directly in my opinion.

    Regards
    James

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •