Thread: Excel to ???

Unanswered: Excel to ???

Hello
    I am very new to databases. I mean green newbie new. Any help or a point in the right direction would be helpful.
    I have a spreadsheet in Excel with a LOT of data. I would like to be able to run reports and view data in an individual record format. I would also like it to be available on a server that would allow simultaneous users to update the data. This also needs to be preferably free or very inexpensive with a free trial.
    Can Access handle simultaneous users? Any other suggestions?

Provided Answers: 54
    Access is a combination of a database engine along with a front end application. Depending on which version (2000, 2007, 2010, etc) and which Edition of Access you have the answer is maybe...

How many users do you have? How many of them already own a copy of MS-Access? Do you have a Local Area Network, or just a server? What Operating System is on your server?

We can certainly help you to find an answer, but we'll need more information than what you've provided so far!

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Provided Answers: 59
    Access using its default storage engine should be able to handle that sort of requirement easily. the only caveat is that it can start having issues with more than 15..30 concurrent users UNLESS its designed to do thatform the start.

The default storage mechanism can easily be repalced with a client server back end as opposed to s file server backend that the defautl uses.

Access doesn't work well on WAN's, it runs fine on LAN's.

If you dont' have copies of Access already then you can deploy the Access application using the free runtime environment

however I would caution you that:-
    the runtime environment used to be a pig to configure (it may not be now)
    developing an Access application for 50+ concurrent users can be a daunting task especially for new developers.