Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    15

    Question Unanswered: How to print drop-down list?

    There is a drop-down list in form say with values A, B, C, D... The list is editable by user and so list may change. A script is required to read/print this list. Is it possible?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    15

    Updating drop-down list

    Or is this possible? There are two drop-down lists in form. Whenever the list of values in first drop down list is changed, the list in second drop-down field should
    get updated. The both drop down-list should contain same values.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Drop down list based on records.

    Yes to both questions, but you need to change your approach.
    When you create your drop down list you are given a few options. One of them is a drop down list based on records.

    If you use that one, you can print the list, and when one list gets updated, the other one will too as the data is pulled from the same folder of records.

    Regards
    James

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    264
    Provided Answers: 2
    Hello all
    There is a possible work around with fixed values that allow editing.
    First create a "on edit" script for the drop list.
    Create a static variable (global may be ok but static will retain data after shut down).
    Make a if rule that checks if your entry in drop list is contained in static variable. If not add this records field value plus current content of variable (use a return to keep on new line) with set text action.
    Now when anything is added to drop list the static variable will contain this list.
    Create a form with a multiline field and set it's value to the static variable to view/print data.
    ie
    If [$editlist] Not Contains "[staticlist]" then


    [$editlist] = [$editlist]<BR> [staticlist]


    displayform: [multiline] = "[$staticlist]"


    End If
    Did a rough mock up and appears to work - could make a demo file if stuck.
    Regards
    David

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Hi David.
    That's a very interesting approach. Looks right to me. Good thinking. Nice one.

    Regards
    James

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for your replies. Will post again if it works.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    15

    It works...!

    Both of the solution worked. Thanks...!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •