Becoming a Jr. DBA

I notice in the past two years of searching Monster / Linkedin / Dice and most other various job posting sites, I never see a position or offering for a Jr. DBA. When I started my career as a Linux System Administrator, I was a Jr. after being in technical support for 2 years. I was working under a Sr. Linux guy who showed me a lot of cool things you just can't get from online training or certs.

I still love Linux and find it an essential building block / skill in IT however I have a huge passion for Databases and find PostgreSQL to be a really stable and exciting platform to learn. Sadly I'm not skilled enough yet to use triggers, stored procedures, or complex constraint checks and more...but eventually hope to learn.

Is there a way you guys suggest I can get some real RDBMS experience? Any reason why the only paid / technical positions I can find are Sr. DBA's or Architects? Do companies generally just have a programmer of some kind work w/ the DBA and shift them into a Jr. DBA role?

The biggest problem is that so many shops are cutting to the bone, so they have to either bring in a "hired gun" with a lot of capability or "train from within" when it comes to their databases.

If you think about the IT infrastructure that you've seen since you started working in the field, I'd imagine that you've seen at least a couple of generations... Hardware comes, and hardware goes... Operating systems come, and they go too... The only thing that stays with the company for a very long time (often forever) is the data, and the database is where that data is stored.

This means that the DBA sits atop the biggest single thing of value to almost every company, and has 100% control of that whole pile. You have to trust your DBA, in a way that is fundamentally different from the way you trust everyone but your CIO. They both make decisions every day that directly affect the largest single item of value in your IT infrastructure, your data itself.