Unanswered: Form Help: have a text box assume a default value based on another text box's value?

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I recently started using Access to help keep my laboratory organized by tracking the usage of equipment and various consumables. The version I have available for use is Access 2010 (v14.0.6129.5000, 32-bit).

I'm trying to set up a form that lets me update the table listing everything I have in-stock as supplies are used up. The table ("LED Inventory") associated with the form ("LED Inventory Adjustment Form") has fields "Lot #" (number, primary key) and "# Parts On-Hand" (number). What I'd like to do is have the text box for "# Parts On-Hand" fill itself in once I've filled in the "Lot #" text box.

Right now I'm trying to accomplish this by setting the ControlSource property of the "# Parts On-Hand" text box to the expression below, but it just seems to leave the text box blank instead.
    Code:
    =DLookUp("[# Parts On-Hand]","[LED Inventory]","[# Parts On-Hand] =" & [Forms]![LED Inventory Adjustment Form]![LOT #])
    If at all possible, I'd really prefer to avoid solutions that require VBA or SQL since I'm not very familiar with them.
    Last edited by PolskiPhysics; 09-20-13 at 12:04.

Provided Answers: 59
    what datatype is lot #
    if its numeric your code should work
    if its alphanumeric it will need delimiting

Code:
    =DLookUp("[# Parts On-Hand]","[LED Inventory]","[# Parts On-Hand] ='" & [Forms]![LED Inventory Adjustment Form]![LOT #] & "'")
    im assuming that [# Parts On-Hand] should actually refer to the lot number column in your table

incidentally you will make life a lot easier for yourself if you drop the space in your table /column names. there is absolutely no need to use spaces (which are great for humans but not nbeed for computers. if you want a human useable description set somethign in the caption property of each column
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton