Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4

    Question Unanswered: Monitoring DB2 Upgrade Progress

    Hello all,

    I'm currently in the process of upgrading my DB2 installation from V10.1 to V10.5 on AIX 7.1. I have finished the initial install of V10.5, and I'm now working on upgrading my existing DB2 V10.1 instances to use the new version. I ran "db2ckupgrade <DBNAME>" to ensure that the database was prepared for upgrade, and it said everything was good. So I kicked off the instance upgrade by running "nohup ./db2iupgrade -u <fenced_ID> <inst_ID> &". I started this over 2 hours ago, and I haven't seen any indication that it has finished, or is even making any progress - I still see the "db2iupgrade" processes active, but the log files stored in /tmp haven't been updated since I started the upgrade.

    Is there any way that I can check to ensure that the DB2 instance upgrade is making progress? Like I said, the log files haven't been updated for awhile, so they are not much use. The last message in the db2iupgrade_local.log.8126558 file is:

    ## Entering: is_firsthost
    ## Exiting: is_firsthost
    ## Entering: chk_databases


    And the last massage in the output file was:

    Task #3 start
    Description: Configuring DB2 instances
    Estimated time 300 second(s)


    It's definitely been a lot longer than 300 seconds since this upgrade started. How can I check if the upgrade is still working?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Is there anything logged in the db2diag.log? does db2level still show v10? Please provide " ps -ef | grep db2 " output

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4
    There are no recent entries in db2diag.log, just a couple from when I ran "db2stop" before launching the upgrade.

    "db2level" still shows "DB2 v10.1.0.0" as the version.

    The output of "ps -ef | grep db2" is:

    root 6160512 8126558 0 09:21:42 pts/0 0:00 /bin/bsh /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/instance/db2iexec -n db2inst1 /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/instance/db2imchk db2inst1 /home/db2inst1 /tmp/db2iupgrade_local.tmp1.8126558
    root 6947038 13959220 0 14:38:16 pts/0 0:00 grep db2
    db2das1 7143638 1 0 Sep 17 - 0:00 /home/db2das1/das/adm/db2dasrrm
    root 8126558 12910694 0 09:21:40 pts/0 0:00 /bin/bsh /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/instance/db2iupgrade_local -d -a server db2inst1
    db2inst1 10027052 6160512 0 09:21:42 pts/0 0:00 -ksh -c . /home/db2inst1/sqllib/db2profile 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null; /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/instance/db2imchk db2inst1 /home/db2inst1 /tmp/db2iupgrade_local.tmp1.8126558
    root 10092730 1 0 Sep 19 - 0:16 /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/bin/db2fmcd
    db2inst1 10551456 10027052 0 09:21:42 pts/0 0:00 bash
    root 11534428 13959220 0 09:21:34 pts/0 0:00 ./db2iupgrade -u db2fenc1 db2inst1
    root 12910694 11534428 0 09:21:34 pts/0 0:01 /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/instance/native/install/db2iure -idir /opt/IBM/db2/V10.5/instance/native/install -t /tmp/db2iupgrade.trc.11534428 -r /tmp/db2iupgrade.rsp.11534428 -l /tmp/db2iupgrade.log.11534428 -e db2isetup -l /tmp/db2iupgrade.log.11534428


    I appreciate any help you can provide.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Can you please check if there any info in /tmp/db2iupgrade_local.tmp1.8126558 ?

    Are you sure db2ckupgrade didn't report any warnings/errors?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4
    There doesn't seem to be anything useful in db2iupgrade_local.tmp1.8126558. Here is the most recent information written to it:

    ## Entering: chk_fsysspace /home/db2inst1 943256
    ## Entering: find_free_space /home/db2inst1
    ## Entering: chk_dir /home/db2inst1
    ## Function name = chk_dir, Return code = 0
    ## Exiting: chk_dir
    ## Free space in filesystem = 50446728 KB
    ## Exiting: find_free_space
    ## Dirname = /home/db2inst1
    ## Space available = 50446728 KB, Required = 943256 KB
    ## Exiting: chk_fsysspace
    ## Entering: chk_bitwidth
    ## Entering: query_instuse db2inst1 BitWidth 0
    ## Entering: query_instuse_string db2inst1 BitWidth 0
    ## Entering: find_homedir db2inst1
    ## User home dir = /home/db2inst1
    ## Exiting: find_homedir
    ## Exiting: query_instuse_string
    ## Exiting: query_instuse
    ## Exiting: chk_bitwidth
    ## Entering: is_firsthost
    ## Exiting: is_firsthost
    ## Entering: chk_databases


    And I'm certain db2ckupgrade didn't report any errors. I still have the output file and it says:

    DBT5508I The db2ckupgrade utility completed successfully. The database or databases can be upgraded.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Sounds like it may be waiting for input or something. Did you try to bring the process to the foreground to check its tty?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    You used db2ckupgrade from v10.5 installation, right?

    db2 got stuck in chk_databases (didn't exit this function). If you're 100% sure that db2ckupgrade completed successfully, then you could try the following at your own risk (but first check what n_i suggested):

    - make a backup of .../instance/db2iupgrade
    - update .../instance/db2iupgrade to comment out all references to chk_databases
    - retry db2iupgrade


    Take an offline db backup before retrying it (if you haven't done it). Another option you can try is to drop/recreate the instance as v10.5, recatalog the db and then migrate it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4
    I just checked, and it isn't waiting for input. It seems like it is still working, but I can't tell if it's actually making progress.

    Doing some searching, I found this article which seems to be similar to my issue:

    IBM The db2ckupgrade or db2iupgrade tools take a long time to complete when upgrading to the DB2 v10.1 or v10.5 products - United States

    It looks like I may need to apply a patch, or at least implement a work-around.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •