Where to start educating myself about databases

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum. I joined because I am interested in learning about databases and web based databases. I would like any suggestions or direction on where I should start. I have found MIT offers free web courses. But if anyone has suggestions of what courses would benefit me or how I could go about educating myself in this area it would be very much appreciated. I am very computer savvy but I have limited knowledge of databases or programming. I am eager to learn and appreciate any feedback.

Thank you.

Chris

Dear iConny. it is up to you that what package you like to learn. On this forum you can learn because here is very cooperative members for sharing knowledge

The idea of "I want to learn about databases" as opposed to "I want to learn about computers" narrows the field a bit, but not enough to be useful. It is kind of like "I want to learn about planes" as opposed to "I want to learn about vehicles"... Without some detail to guide us, I'm not sure that we can give you a useful answer other than "dig in and have fun"!

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Sorry for the vague question! I am interested in learning/developing web and desktop applications. I apologize for my lack of knowledge but is that still too broad?

Chris

If you are looking for commercial training (the kind that will enable you to get a job), I'd recommend Pluralsight. While they are not free, they are well recognized by IT groups around the world and the training that they provide is both interesting and technically some of the best that I've seen.