Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82

    Unanswered: Maintain Front Ends

    What is the best way to keep the front ends on multiple pcs updated with the current version?

    Can this be accomplished from one pc instead of having to go to each machine?

    I have version 2013 of Access.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    413
    If each pc has sharing enabled, then you can! Roll it out from the server would be my choice.

    HTH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    The computers are on a network. How can I do this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    there is some code in the code bank on this forum that will handle that for you
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82

    Maintain Front End

    I searched and could not find the code. Could you please direct me where it is?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Its in the Access code bank, the first page of the Access forum.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    Okay maybe I am not doing this correctly. I opened the Code Bank but still did not find anything related to maintain the front ends.

    Sorry for troubling you but could you be more specific which particular one you are referring to?

    Thank you very much for help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    413
    If for example you maintain an updated copy of the FE then either you or your net admin can copy the new version to all users folders where the old copy resides.

    HTH

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    Yes I understand how to do this but will I have to go to each machine in order to put the updated version? It would be preferable to accomplish this from one location.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Look at Post #19 on this page. It does what you need and much more:

    http://www.dbforums.com/microsoft-ac...de-bank-2.html

    Linq ;0)>
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    I have read the post and thanks for that. Will this work for Access 2013? It seems that this has to have users. Currently I have front ends set up on desktops available for multiple users on each desktop.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    as you are the first person to ask that question, why not try it out and report back. the author Paul (PKStormy ) hasn't been on the forums for nearly a year.

    as its a vbscript I can't see how its affected by Access version changes.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    Okay I will let you know how it works.

    Thanks very much.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82

    Front Ends

    Okay I have tried something and it seems to work okay but I would appreciate input.

    We have a shared drive on our network that I created a file. In the file I have copy #1, copy #2, copy #3 and so on of the front end. I also created quick links to each of these and put them on the desktops.

    My theory is when I want to do any updates I just replace copy #1, copy #2, copy #3 and so on. The quick links will still connect to the replaced updated front ends.

    Thanks for any advice or comment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •