Unanswered: DB2 connection problem (4499), temporarily solved by restart

DB2 v9.7, Fix Pack 6
    DB2 Advanced Enterprise Server Edition
    DB2 Connect Server
    Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1

Caveat: I'm a developer, not a DBA, but I've been pressed into duty doing some DB2 work in my company, and I'm facing a strange connection problem in the DB2 system in my local development environment.

I recently installed DB2. (I had to uninstall it then reinstall it, which I did using db2unins.) I have created a database that appears to work fine under most circumstances. I can connect to it from the Command Line Processor. I can connect to it from the Command Editor. I can connect to it from the Control Center. No problems.

But sometimes I can't connect to it using clpplus (which is important for us because we have ant scripts that use clpplus to manage updates to the database). For example, if I run this command from a command prompt:

clpplus db2inst1/password@localhost:50000/CBG

I sometimes get this error:

[jcc][t4][2030][11211][3.64.82] A communication error occurred during operations
    on the connection's underlying socket, socket input stream,
    or socket output stream. Error location: Reply.fill() - insufficient data (-1).

Also, sometimes certain third party tools, such as DB Solo, can't connect to it either.

I've confirmed from other posts that the following settings are correct:

from db2set -all:
    DB2COMM=TCPIP

from dbm config:
    TCP/IP Service name (SVCENAME) = db2c_DB2
    and my services file contains:
    db2c_DB2 50000/tcp

Also, turning Windows firewall off doesn't help.

But here's what does solve the problem, temporarily: Restarting my computer. Then I can connect from clpplus for a while. At some point, it stops working again.

I've tried stopping and starting the various DB2 Windows services to see if that helps. But no, I actually have to turn the system off and back on.

So the two key clues seem to be: