Talking Great Question about Database Design for Manufacturing Company

My company makes widgets that our customer designs. since we dont design them, we just make them, the customer tells us a few important pieces of information that may change based on their specific order.

First I have a relationship between the customer data table and a table with the data about each individual order. we use an in house order number and that is always different so that's my key. I'm a novice just trying to help bring us out of the stone age technologically so I want to design a database. the problem im having is this.

each job has several piece numbers that the customer gives us. then each piece has several characteristics, length, bend angles per piece (may be up to 14), design of ends(may also be up to 20 or so) and they may all be different between each order from our customers.

I dont want to have to make hundreds of blank rows in the table for our orders that will have bend degrees and cut lengths when many of our jobs only have a few pieces. we do get larger orders with up to 60 or so different part numbers.

I guess I need a suggestion on how to set up the tables.

we call the part numbers Mark #s or MK# some jobs have only two or three MK#s and some have many more. each MK# will always have a few characteristics like length and bend angles. the problem is each MK# may have several bend angles and rotations.

How would you handle it?

have a table that defined the elements as a child table to the main MK. eg:
    table: MkDetail
    index
    bend
    rotation

you may also need a separate table if say there are or could be more than two ends, other wise I@d store the end detail in the MK primary table
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

What about this?