Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    35

    Question Unanswered: Regarding SQL Developer

    I am new to SQL and Oracle but I am learning how to write code. I did a sample and whenever I try to have to execute it says I need to make a connection. Any suggestions to get this simple code running?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled.png  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Code:
    SQL> select 'Hello World' from dual;
    
    'HELLOWORLD
    -----------
    Hello World
    NEVER do in PL/SQL that which can be done in plain SQL.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    253
    Quote Originally Posted by LaC0saNostra View Post
    I am new to SQL and Oracle but I am learning how to write code. I did a sample and whenever I try to have to execute it says I need to make a connection. Any suggestions to get this simple code running?
    At the risk of stating the obvious, You need to make a connection.
    Notice at the left hand side of your screen, you have a box that lists all your connections, you have none. You need to create one. Before you start learning code, you'll need to learn how to create a connection. I assume that you have an Oracle database up and running on your machine?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    35
    Yes I do have Oracle up and running. Would you be able to explain to me how I am suppose to create a connection and what it entails. It may be the obvious to some but because I am entirely new to writing this code I just need a push in the right direction.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    consider to use built in HELP

    or consider to just Read The Fine Manual

    SQL Developer Concepts and Usage
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    I am learning how to write code. I did a sample and whenever I try to have to execute it says I need to make a connection.
    When you want information from your friend you don't do it by shouting out loud, you need to dial his phone number & wait for him to answer - you're then "connected" to him & can start getting the information you want. It's the same with coding - you're asking for information ("select...from..."), so you need to connect to a database (otherwise you're just shouting out loud).
    To create the connection you just need to sign in to a database. To do this you need:
    1. A database.
    2. An account on the database that you can use.
    3. The password for that account.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    35

    Progress

    After some troubleshooting I figured out why I cannot connect to the database on SQL Developer. Under control panel > administrative tools > services there I'm reading that "OrcacleServiceORCL" needs to be present and has to be started. As you can see with the picture I provided that this is not present. Does anybody know if I missed a step during installation of Oracle and SQL Developer? I am positive this is what's holding me back from connecting.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled.png  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    "OrcacleServiceORCL" is the windows service for a database called ORCL - you don't have a database, so that's why you get the error message.
    You haven't installed an Oracle database, just some bits of software. SQL Developer doesn't create a database & populate it for you, it only helps you to access an existing database.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    I don't use SQL Developer myself, but do know it can be configured to use JDBC thin to connect to the database.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    35
    So I uninstalled Oracle 11g and removed all Oracle files. I then re-downloaded the Oracle Databse 11 g. I went back into SQL Developer and received a different error message this time:

    The error I am getting now is Invalid Username/Password; login denied.

    I was using my Oracle sign in information for the user name and password. Is the user name and password suppose to be something else?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled.png  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    username is incorrect at a minimum

    You would GREATLY benefit from Reading The Fine Manual

    Contents
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    The user name & password should be for an account on the Oracle database that you have now created, NOT your Oracle support account (you did create a database, didn't you?). There is an account that is automatically created within the database to help you get started - the username is scott & the password is tiger
    Use these logon credentials & see what happens.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    35
    I was finally able to get the SQL Developer to connect!

    Under user name and password I used:

    User Name: System

    Password: (The password I chose during Oracle Database 11g installation)

    I tested the connection and it was successful and finally allowed me to connect. If anybody has any questions on the process to getting to this step just contact me and I will explain.Also. I can now collapse the ORACL so I have access to all of the table, views etc.

    Am I now ready to write code?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled.png  

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Neither SYS nor SYSTEM schemas should be used on a regular basis.
    They belong to Oracle & should only be used for maintenance operations.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    35
    I am a little confused then. What is my user name supposed to be then?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •