Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Notes Field

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82

    Unanswered: Notes Field

    I have a field for notes to customers. I would like to be able to select from a series of instructions to forward to my customers without having to type redundant information. The field is currently set up as a memo field.

    I am using Access 2013.

    Does anyone have suggestions on how to accomplish this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Im not sure what you mean by this.....
    Do you mean build a set of instructions from a library of phrases
    Do you mean that for each custoemr and or each customer order
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    We use the notes field to pass on instructions to the customer. Often they are similar instructions that have to be typed each time. So I was wondering if the techs can just select from a list of instructions instead of having to type them each time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    I suppose I could create a table for these instructions and then create a field to select an instruction.

    When an instruction is selected could it populate the 'Notes' field?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    I have seen something similar to what I want to do but just don't know how.

    There is a command button to popup another form with a drop down list. By selecting one of the items it populates the field on the main form.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    so you want to add stock phrases into a memo field
    so what you could do is have a table containing those stock phrases, add them to a combo box and then add the selected phrases to the memo column.
    you can separate lines by using the vbcrlf constant.
    you cna add phrases with
    mymemocontrol.text = mymemocontrol.text & vbcrlf & 'my new text'
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    82
    I created a combo box. Column 1 from my table has the codes that I want listed in the combo box and Column 2 I want to populate my memo field 'Notes'.

    I am able to populate the 'Notes' field with the instructions but my combo box lists the instructions instead of the code for the instructions.

    What am I doing wrong?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    right now the easiest is going to remove the code in the combo box and have only the phrases in the combo

    failing that you'd need to bone up on combo /list box in the help system or online. look fo the selected property

    another approach could be to store the code inside your memo and inflate those codes as required.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •