Unanswered: Connection Issue - Server Doesn't Listen

Hello,
    I am trying to set up a data server for personal use using Ubuntu Server and Postgresql 9.1. I am new to both Linux and Postgresql so I will describe everything I did.

So I installed Ubuntu server with SSH and Postgresql 9.1. I configured the /etc/network/interfaces to give my server a static IP and tested it using the SSH login.

I didn't do anything to the Postgresql program except change the porstgresql.conf file so listen_addresses = '*'

and the pg_hba.conf file by adding the lines
    host all all 0.0.0.0/0 md5
    host all all 192.168.1.103 (my laptops IP) 255.255.255 md5

I am trying to connect remotely from my laptop using pgadmin3.

I don't know what is wrong but I have been on this for a couple of days now and I don't know what to do. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Provided Answers: 1
    1st welcome and congrats on picking PostgreSQL. I think your only issue is you're missing CIDR representation in your 'pg_hba.conf'.

Can you 1st establish a local connection from the server (localhost / 127.0.0.1)?

In your $PGDATA/pg_hba.conf, you should have an entry as follows:

Code:
    # TYPE  DATABASE        USER            ADDRESS                 METHOD

# "local" is for Unix domain socket connections only
    local   all             all                                     md5
    local   postgres        postgres                                ident
    # IPv4 local connections:
    host    all             all             127.0.0.1/32            md5
    host    all             all             192.168.1.0/24          md5
    As you can see I have a local rule that allows my Linux OS 'postgres' user to map into the database 'postgres' user w/o a password. You can change this to md5 if you want but I prefer it as-is. Make sure you 1st set the password on the 'postgres' OS user before you try and connect or else the mapping will be disabled by Linux.

Code:
    passwd postgres