Thread: Guidance Needed

Question Unanswered: Guidance Needed

Good afternoon everyone,

I'm hoping someone is able to offer some guidance, I'm not wanting to be spoon fed, but I am completely new to Access and I'm not even sure how to search for the help. I spent last night Googling different terms, but no results offered what I need.

Basically, I want to create a 'front end' to a large hard drive of files. I know I could add each file name and URL to a table manually, but I'm hoping there is some way for the DB to automatically 'scan' through the hard drive and list all files contained within.

The Structure of the Hard Drive is as follows:

Main Folder
    Sub Folder
    Sub sub folder
    Sub sub folder
    Sub sub folder
    Sub folder
    Sub sub folder
    Sub sub folder
    etc....

The hard drive has a total of around 10,000 files in various formats, Word Documents, Excel Spreadsheets, Video files and PDF's.

The reason I want the DB to automatically pick up files is that several people will be adding new files to the hard drive each day, and I dont want to have to enter each one into a table manually if there is a way to automate this.

Once this has been completed, I want the front end to contain a simple search box, where a user can type in keywords and be displayed with all relevant files.

I have searched this forum and found this thread but it went completely over my head. I'm wondering if anyone could recommend any sites/tutorials or books which would help break this down for an 'idiot'.

Last night I viewed several Lynda.com videos and skimmed through a book but these only really offer guides on how to create databases; by entering customer information manually.

I hope someone can help

Many thanks

Provided Answers: 59
    that post looks like it should get you in the right direction
    however unless someone happens top have a function ready proven out there I think you will have to dive in and do it yourself