Unanswered: tracking user changes

hello guys,

im pretty new to db2 so apologize if this has been asked in the past and/or doesn't belong in this section here.

anyhow, i'm working on a project with db2 version 10.5 and working with temporal databases. it's great having these new features, pretty convenient, i'm also trying to make an example db with the bitemporal approach. however, both on the approaches with system_time as well as business_time, i'm only able to track changes made in regards of TIME. so this already is great, so db2 does its job automatically once i update tables (like moving into history tables)
    with the sys_start and sys_end

however, i also always want to track the current user logged in into the system. therefore, im working with jdbc (eclipse) connected to my db2 database for a little tool - but before i manually build a "work-around" with the problem of the user changes, i want to ask if there is already something build in feature in db2. i googled already but wasnt able to find. so basically what i need is for each new insert into/update or delete command also tracking "who did it", like the user who is logged in.
    the workaround would look like this that i build a connection to the database in eclipse by connecting to the database, so i can read the arguments (arg[0] is user) which i would need to program so it would write in the "user" column the argument but that would mean i need to code it manually. that is why im asking if i may overlook something and there is already an automated option build in db2 so it saves the current user logged in for each insert into/delete/update query in like e.g column "user"

hopefully that makes sense, if not let me know :-)
    Last edited by relaxo; 11-23-13 at 07:19.

Provided Answers: 1