Unanswered: Failed Parameter Query

Hey everyone,

I am trying to run the following query:

SELECT qryReserveLocations.Aisle, qryReserveLocations.Bay, qryReserveLocations.Level, qryReserveLocations.Item_Number, tblItemMaster.Description, tblItemMaster.Size, tblItemMaster.BPC, qryReserveLocations.Actual_Units, [Actual_Units]/[BPC] AS Cases
    FROM tblItemMaster INNER JOIN qryReserveLocations ON tblItemMaster.[Item Number] = qryReserveLocations.Item_Number
    WHERE ((([Actual_Units]/[BPC])=[Enter Qty Parameter]));
    The part that fails is in bold. If i put [Actual_Units]/[BPC])=<5 it will work but I'd like to have the user enter what they want to see which is why I put the parameter in there. I've never tried this before and I'm not entirely sure its possible. I should say that the results with the parameter come up blank but if i put the actually value in the where statement it returns data.

Modify your SQL by adding the following statement at the beginning and try it out:

Code:
    PARAMETERS [Enter Qty Parameter] Long;
    SELECT qryReserveLocations.Aisle, qryReserveLocations.Bay, qryReserveLocations.Level, qryReserveLocations.Item_Number, tblItemMaster.Description, tblItemMaster.Size, tblItemMaster.BPC, qryReserveLocations.Actual_Units, [Actual_Units]/[BPC] AS Cases
    FROM tblItemMaster INNER JOIN qryReserveLocations ON tblItemMaster.[Item Number] = qryReserveLocations.Item_Number
    WHERE ((([Actual_Units]/[BPC])=[Enter Qty Parameter]));
    www.MsAccessTips.com (Learn MS-Access Tips & Tricks)
    Learn Advanced MS-Access Programming with sample VBA Code.

All responses are based on Access 2003/2007

Thank you!

This almost worked. Im able to enter any random number in there but im not able to put in say <5 or <=5

Provided Answers: 14
    Quote Originally Posted by Syrch View Post
    but im not able to put in say <5 or <=5
    A parameter is always a value. < or <= are comparison operators.