Question Unanswered: Need access equivalent to vlookup

Hi all,

I am trying to build a data base for the employees in my company to fill in the production hours. Basically they will be using the access sheet just to fill in the data and I will be using excel to pull up the bulk report. I want the employees to be able to just fill in the employee no: and the employee name and the section they work in should automatically appear in the access table. It is pretty easy in excel using a Vlookup function and I heard Dlookup is the access equivalent.However for some reason I cant get my head around it.I am a beginner in MS Access.Please help

To summarize, Type the emp id , emp name and section should appear automatically in the table.

Please help

Provided Answers: 59
    so what have you tried?
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Need access equivalent to vlookup-this is wat i did

This is what I have..I have a list of employee ids with the corresponding employee names in 1 table called "EMPLOYEELIST" with Columns "Emp no" and "Name" and the other tables(eg:Bending) with the columns "EmpID", "Name","Section"
    I created a form from the table(Bending) and selected properties of EmpID ,then under 'Events' tab selected 'Event procedure' and wrote the VBA code
    Name=Dlookup("Name","EMPLOYEELIST","Emp no=" & [EmpID]).

I am pretty sure its all wrong,No idea what im doing

This is what I have tried

I have one table named "EMPLOYEE LIST" with columns "Emp ID","Name", which has all the employees and their IDs. Another table which says "Assembling" which has the following columns: "Date","Emp id","Name","Hours".what I have tried is , I have created a form from the table "Assembling" then in the Events tab I have filled in the following event procedure.
    =dlookup("Name","EMPLOYEELIST","[Emp ID=" & "Emp ID")

I am pretty sure the criteria is incorrect.

Provided Answers: 19
    Couple of things; if there really is a space in the Field name