Unanswered: Populating fields

Hello guys!
    I'm quite new at BDB and don't know how to resolve this...

Let's say that I have one form with fileds: NAME, NUMBER1, NUMBER2, NUMBER3.

Let's say that I have another form with dropdown menu field. In dropdown menu I'm using all NAME records which are entered in previous field. In this form I have also field NUMBER2.

Here's the question: how can I automatically populate field NUMBER2 with value entered in the first form? NUMBER2 must depend regarding selecting record from dropdown menu which has field NAME.

If there is some kind of script or something similar, newbie example is very much appreciated

Thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 17
    Hello.
    Please see attached file for a working example of what you are asking.

All the names in the drop down list are pulled from the contacts folder. When you select a name from the drop down list, the number field will update exactly as you requested.

Kind regards
    James.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Provided Answers: 54
    Great zot Tubritt! What are you doing up posting on DBForums at that hour of the day (night) ???

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Thank you very much for your help!

I do have one question.
    What means "[%queMathOp(1000,5,12,6)]" in the script?
    What this numbers mean?

In help file I've found: "queMathOp (QueryID, FormID, |Field|, |Operation|, Var1, Var2) - records are generated on the basis of the query with QueryID. You can use the optional variables Var1 and Var2 to set the User Input query parameters."

But I don't know how to adjust these numbers for my case. Where can I see QueryID and FormID? Can you please, explain each number?

Actually I have a case where I have to populate two fileds based on drop down selection. I guess I have to put one more line of code in the script with queMathOp...but first I have to understand how queMathOp works.