Getting started databasing

Hey dBforums,

I'm currently working at a small company that is in need of converting a current excel document in to a relatively small database. Now here's the catch.. I'm a sophomore computer science student with absolutely no experience or knowledge on databases.

However, I decided to take up the project, considering I am getting minimum wage and wouldn't feel all that bad in the (unfortunate and hopefully unlikely) case that I could not get the job done. The company has no sort of IT department so someone needed to step up and take on the project, as the excel spreadsheet is beginning to get out of control.

Currently, the excel doc is holding is currently holding system identification, performance testing, shipping, office related, and repair data for the systems (ultraviolet light curing systems) we sell. A picture here of the described
    It began small, like all things, and quickly got out of control.

My job is to learn what I can about databasing, and choose a suitable DBMS to get the job done. My first thought was to do this in access, considering the easy excel integration, but I'm also considering using MS SQL or MariaDB
    (as recommended by a few peers). I'm only at the workplace in between school sessions so the database will have to be accessible and manageable but those uninformed on the subject. Also to be noted is there is currently no server in place and all of our data is being stored on a pc sharing its folders to the workgroup, however plans of switching to a server in the future are in place.

My question is, what would be the best DBMS to use for this job?

Also, it would be greatly appreciated if you could forward me to any resources on getting started with databasing it would be greatly appreciated.
    I have already done a considerable (kind of) amount of research pertaining to normalization, redundancy, data ambiguity, and a few other topics. But