Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: Is this possible?

    Hi Everyone,

    I am very new to Access and Database design, so I apologize in advance if I have my terminology wrong.

    I am an embryologist at a fertility clinic in Edmonton, AB. We (I) want to design my own database to manage our ivf cycle data as the hospital will not pay for a commercial database. I am working with Access 2000...

    So, what I want to do, first, is have a Cycle Summary table with the IVF Cycle ID number as the primary Key. IN the first table I will enter the patient data, and other information related specific to that cycle.

    In the next table/form I will enter oocyte retrieval information again I would like to use the initial CYCLE ID as the Primary Key.

    For a double check on data validation to make sure my team is entering the correct data, is there a way on the Oocyte Retrieval Form to enter the cycle ID and have it display the patient information so I know I am entering the correct data?

    Table One - Demographics
    Table Two - Oocyte Retrieval

    Both use IVFCYCLEID Number as primary key. When I enter cycle ID on the form for table two, I want patient name and number from table one to display on the form as a double check.

    So, if this is possible - how can I do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    Is this what you're after?

    Autofill
    Paul

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4
    yes I think so!

    Now, any tips on how to implement? Again, access newbie here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    Use the combo wizard to add a combo on the form, including the necessary fields. Use the formula to refer to the appropriate columns in the combo.
    Paul

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    Use the combo wizard to add a combo on the form, including the necessary fields. Use the formula to refer to the appropriate columns in the combo.
    Got it and works brilliantly. Thanks. Now, is there a way to do this without a combo box? I would rather a text box (or something) to type in cycle ID and it pulls the data.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    Sure, but then you need to do the work of making sure the value entered exists, pulling the data from the table, etc. You can use a DLookup or open a recordset, either way using the value entered in the criteria.

    General: DLookup Usage Samples
    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •