Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24

    Unanswered: Database won't close

    I'm having some problems closing my database. I've had it stored locally on my computer but this week I dropped it on our server at work. Now it seems when I close the db it doesn't really close. When I try to reopen the db it won't open up. I've had to go into the "task manager" anc close it from there. Doing this does allow me to open it back up. But then the same thing happens again, it won't close. Back to task manager and open again. This continues.
    Is there something I can do to have the db close completely each time so I can reopen it again when needed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Two questions:
    1. Exactly how are you closing the database?
    2. Why would you place a development copy of a database on a server?

    Note that even if you were ready to publish/distribute the app, you'd only place the Back End, containing the Tables/Data on the server; a copy of the Front End, with everything else, would go on each user's PC.

    Linq ;0)>
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    24
    I put it on the server because I need to see how it reacts on the server. Will it work, will it be slower, etc. So what I've found is it doesn't close correctly.
    I'm closing the normal way by clicking the "Close X" in the upper right hand corner.
    It closes correctly when being accessed from the local computer. but not when it's accessed from the server.

    I never knew I could load parts of the db on the server and other parts on the individual computers. How do I make that happen?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Here are two excellent tutorials that shows how to use the Wizard to Split a database as well as how to do it manually:

    Splitting your Access database into application and data

    or

    Sharing - Access wiki - Access Help and How-to - Microsoft Office by UtterAccess.com

    Linq ;0)>
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    34
    Ok so this seems to work. I've got a question or two.
    Once I create the front end can I make changes to it without re-creating it again? I've also changed the file extension to .mde from .mdb. Can I still make changes to my forms and reports? If not how do I make changes?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    If you deploy your app as an MDE or ACCDE then you cannot make changes to it. Its a one way path. Retain your original MDB or ACCDB as your development environment.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    34
    So if I want to make changes I'd have to work with my original db and then create a new front end, is that the process?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •