Provided Answers: 17

Unanswered: Intel Nuc for Databases

Hi guys.
    Just wondering, what do you think of using the Intel Nuc for running databases created with brilliant database ?

A Nuc can screw to the Monitor mount on the back of any standard Computer Monitor, so from workspace point of view, having no desktop tower is a big plus to me.

Surly a Intel i3 processor is more than enough to run even a large database without even breaking a sweat.

Worse case, do you think such a tiny device would have no problem running 24/7 if needed ?

Regards
    James

Hi James

I found your thread while I was trying to find an answer to an irritating problem I'm having with a personal database.

This reply is probably way to late to help you but just in case...

I work in the Digital Signage industry (Advertising and information on screens of all sorts etc) and small PC devices are key for us. We have been using Intel NUC's to run some of our screens for some time without issue. We tend to be running video in loops or a sequence of videos controlled by a digital signage application so the processor overhead can tend to be very high.
    I would imagine that our overheads would be a lot higher than some databases.There are countless small footprint Industrial PC's available (as I'm sure you are well aware) that are crucially designed for 24x7 operation. We have used many different types over the years - some good, some bad. The problem with most of them for the client is the cost. A decent Industrial PC is not cheap but in terms of the reliability you get, we find it worth the arguments with the client. Every time that the client goes cheap, they end up regretting it and ultimately paying for their mistake in call-out charges or embarrassing equipment failures.

I think you are based in Ireland (I'm in England)and it might be worth your while having a look at Assured Systems http://www.assured-systems.co.uk/ if you haven't already come across them.