Unanswered: record set as parameter

Hi All,

First of all I am very new to the Sybase arena. During our development of Stored procedures I came across the issue mentioned below.
    For one of our requirement , we need to pass set of records from one procedure to another.
    As of now I have though of the following options..

i.Create a Temporary table in the Sybase Temp database and put the data from SourceDB into it, Later the TargetDB procedure will fetch the records from this table to do further processing.

ii. Create some object types and store the data into it in the SourceDB. Create same object type in the TargetDB and get the data from the Objects.

iii.Create a String variable from SourceDB and pass the records in such a fashion (like”,” for Column separator and “|” for Row Separator), which will be taken care by the TargetDB by converting it into a session specific #temp-table.

I am preferring option ii, but not getting any proper guidance on how to achieve that.

What is the best possible solution for the same? Any help is much appreciated.

Provided Answers: 1
    Hi,

Let me see if I got it right:

SourceDB -> No procedure is changing data ( no busines, you just need the table has it is) ?

TargetDB -> Run a proc, using as base the SourceDB..table(s) ( no pro is changing data physically)

If this is the case and the DBs are on the same server, which it seems to be the true by your description.

Why don't have 1 procedure that does all the work?
    Why have data duplicated in 2 Dbs, unless you will enrich the data (updates or deletes or inserts) otherwise no point, just run 1 proc that gives the output desired.

You can be on DB TEST1 and select,insert,update,etc a table in DB TEST2, as long the user exists and has the permissions in both DBs.