Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Unanswered: Run Time Error 9; Subscript out of range

    I am begging anyone out there for help. Situation: I purchased Brilliant years ago and built a very crude customer data base for my small business. When I say crude, I mean crude. I have just enough knowledge to be dangerous.
    A week ago when I tried to open the program and start working, the database would not open. I eventually went to the previous week's back up and it opened. Yesterday morning the same thing happened again, however this time I cannot open anything. I get the error shown here in the subject line. I am totally stuck - no idea what to do. I tried looking up that error on Brilliant's site with no luck. I tried sending them an email with no response so far. I have copied onto a portable drive the last 7 backups that I cannot get into and can upload one of them if someone can help. This is a critical situation for me and I don't know where to turn. I am running Brilliant Database 7.0 Professional.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5
    Does anyone have any ideas at all?? I am really desperate. None of the last week's backups will open - the same error message and then the product just closes down. Please???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Can you please post your database so we can take a look.

    Regards
    James

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5

    Zip of file

    I've attached a zip of the last file - there are six more like it with the six previous days - none will open. Thank you for looking.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Hello.
    I'm sorry to say that there's no way into that file for me. It's most certainly damaged badly.

    Can you check the PC that was running the database for a file ending in ~1 or any ~ number. This ~ file will be where you had your database stored, ..IF.. you had Brilliant Database set to create a backup copy of a database on open.

    If you have one of these files, chances are that will open.

    Regards
    James

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5

    Thanks

    I sure appreciate you taking a look for me. My heart is sinking though since you cannot find a way into the file. I did not change any of the settings as far as making a backup on entering the program, but I cannot find a bbd file anywhere that will open, with the exception of one from 2011 when I changed computers. I guess I am sunk. Really don't know what to do, but thank you again for trying to help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    103
    Hi momatx,

    It's the same here. Try contacting Mikael. Maybe, he can help

    Thanks

    Ernie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks mcmichael for trying. I appreciate it. I have found a usable copy of the database from November, 2013 which I am in the process of rebuilding from that point forward. I do have a question though, the name of this database is something like ~5~1~dmnew..... Will that remain the name from this point out? Is there a way to change the name? As I said earlier, I have very little knowledge on all this stuff, just enough to be dangerous.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Hello.
    Yes, you can freely rename the database to anything you like.

    Regards
    James

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •