Unanswered: SQL 2010 SSI Help

Hello all!

My name is David and I am new to SQL2012 / SSIS and these forums. I have tried to do this with just knowledge on the web and Internet. I am having some disconnects between what they are saying and what is shown and how to do it unfortunately. SQL and SSIS are not my strong suit, I am a VMware guy.

So here it goes...

Simple Integration Services the idea is to take two flat file CSV's and use the full name to sort both files, then take the data in the rowes from file A and put them in the associated rows in file b example.

File A
    Full Name Employee ID Job title Department description Office Location ( take that data and update the corresponding rowes below)
    John Smith 554 sr system admin CBP Civilian Chantilly VA

Name Description Title Department Location
    John Smith 554 sr system admin CBP Civilian Chantilly VA

The reason we are not just renaming the headers is because this file contains other lookup data for the application it is getting imported back into using a power shell script after the data transfer. It seems so simple but i just cant figure it all out. Any help will be appreciated!

Provided Answers: 54
    First order of business, you can mix and match SSIS and PowerShell to your heart's content. You don't need to do one or the other.

I don't understand enough of what you're trying to accomplish to help you very much... SSIS is a full blown data management platform. It might not be as elegant as some of the big name players, but it is faster, smaller, and at least for me it is easier to comprehend. I have no doubt but what it can do what you need, but I'm not sure that it is the tool that I'd choose for this task...

This is a bit like using an Abrams to drive nails... You can do it, as long as the nails are very close to the ground. It is a bit more challenging to drive the same nail on the roof of your house using an Abrams. At least in my experience, a hammer does a nicer job for both cases!