Unanswered: Incremental Backup and size

Linux - RHEL 6.5 - MySQL 5.5

Hi All,
    I am very new to MySQL and trying to get backups working. I have taken over this from some one who left and I am SQL Server and DB2 DBA but not MySQL DBA.

I am not sure how backups are done but I got some things working. I have a ~75GB database. I am doing backup with "meb-3.9" and mysqlbackup command. The full backup I have is fine. We are doing this in our DEV and Stage which is fine but for production, we need a weekly full, daily incremental and what ever else is needed to be able to recover to a point-in-time. I have inserted "log-bin=/backup/databases/scrmps/logs/binlog_files" into my.cnf file (Is this the only requirement ?) then I have restarted MySQL.
    Now, I can only backup with "--incremental-base=history:last_backup" command (Without history:Last_backup it fails). Here is my incremental backup command:

mysqlbackup --incremental --host= --port=6617 --protocol=tcp --user=mysqlbackup --password=somepassword --with-timestamp --incremental-backup-dir=/backup/databases/scrmps/incr --incremental-base=history:last_backup backup

I have done a full backup (~73GB) and right after that I created a incremental backup with the above command and it created ~27GB incremental backup. My question is why or what I am doing wrong ?. After the full backup, there were no changes to the database that would create ~27GB incremental backup.

What is the best way to setup a Full and Incremental backups for a production database ? What changes needed ?.

If some one give me a basic steps, I would appreciate it rather than giving me links to go and hammer it out. I have been in MySQL links and it is too spread out with including bugs and stuff..........................Thanks for any help.