Unanswered: Informix Public Role

Hi Guys

I am not a tech guy, I am actually a Chartered Accountant who has moved over to advisory.

In my firm, we are required to perform technical reviews by providing scripts and analysing the results. Informix is not a DB that we come across very often.

In my current audit we have noted that the Public role has been granted D access, therefore they have DBA privileges.

Is there any reason that any of you who have experience on Informix can think of as to why Public would require D privilege?

I am asking so that if the client comes back to me and says they require that access for business purposes, I would like to be able to give my relevant input.

Provided Answers: 54
    The "D" privilege returned by querying systabauth is Delete.

The "D" value in the sysusers.usertype indicates a DBA, meaning that the user has every privilege.

I can't come up with a good general reason for making PUBLIC a DBA. That seems like a quick way to accomplish a disaster.

I'm a big fan of the "principle of least privilege" which says every user has exactly the permissions that are needed for their work, and nothing more. I'm also a big fan of having every user have a unique login (no sharing of credentials) so that database auditing can be performed (which is only vaguely related to financial auditing).

One possible alternative if the client wasn't willing to actively manage security would be to restrict the DBA role then make PUBLIC the owner of all tables. This would give every user read/write access to the tables, but would at least limit the carnage a bit.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan View Post
    The "D" privilege returned by querying systabauth is Delete.

The "D" value in the sysusers.usertype indicates a DBA, meaning that the user has every privilege.