Unanswered: Joining 2 tables from different databases

Hi all,

My goal here is to join data from 2 tables that reside on separate databases located within the company network. My current query is:
    Code:
    select * from dbName.schema.table c
    left join dbName2.schema2.table2 ag
    on c.column = ag.column
    I am using the TOAD for Oracle software (first time ever), and the error I get is "ORA-00933: SQL command not properly ended".

I tried just
    Code:
    select * from dbName.schema.table
    from within the dbName connection just to see if the fully-qualified table name works, and it fails.

The database tabs say <user>@<db>.WORLD. What does the world mean?

This is my first time using TOAD, although I do have quite a bit of SQL Developer and SQL Server experience (so SQL isn't an issue).

Provided Answers: 1
    You can only be connected to one database at a time. You will need to define a database link pointing to another database, then reference it in your query. You'll find plenty examples of database links (dblinks) on the interwebs.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Quote Originally Posted by n_i View Post
    You can only be connected to one database at a time. You will need to define a database link pointing to another database, then reference it in your query. You'll find plenty examples of database links (dblinks) on the interwebs.
    Thanks, I will look into dblinks.

Meanwhile, do you know why even a simple select statement with the fully qualified table name fails and returns "table not found"? The query is:
    Code:
    select * from [dbName.world].[schema1].tableName