Question Unanswered: Is it even possible?

Hello, I am a Chef by profession with computers as a hobby. Currently I work in a banquet kitchen doing insane numbers of people and events. We serve thousands of guests a day with 15-30 separate BEO's (Banquet Event Order). A single BEO can range between a couple celebrating an engagement to a corporate function with upwards of 20,000 guests. BEO's can contain a host of different menu's, custom orders, single items and special dietary needs. As you can imagine this creates an inventory management nightmare on several levels. What I would like to be able to do is input the items needed on each BEO as a separate record with options for menu's, menus with custom items, custom menus and individual items.
    For instance
    BEO 1 is a standard menu of Ch Chip Cookies, Oatmeal Cookies and brownies.
    BEO 2 Is the same menu except Instead of oatmeal cookies they want sugar.
    BEO 3 Is an entirely custom menu of chocolate truffles made with a special order chocolate.