Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Unanswered: Using Google Maps to calculate distance in Brilliant

OK, here is what I need to do, and since I am new to brilliant, I am not sure IF it can be done.

I want to have a STATIC starting location, maybe as a hidden field, since the trucks will be dispatched from that location.

I then want BDB to look at the pickup address, calculate using Google Maps or maybe Mapquest or Bing, the distance from the start location to the pickup address, and auto populate a field in the DB.

I don't need to show the Map in BDB.

Does anyone know if this is feasible or possible?

Thanks

Provided Answers: 1
    brilliant has not a way to do it directly...
    but...

your answer is not in brilliant, is in the google api... what you need to achieve is ask the distance to the google maps api, and then, save that info somewhere, for example in a file, and then, make brilliant to read the file and so on...

but... you need to get your hands dirty with the google maps api.

theres is a nice guy in this forum that made some google maps stuff in brilliant i would ask him where to begging.

but in general speaking you should investigate about google maps api.

best regards

fer from mexico

(api= aplication interface)

Thanks! I was kinda afraid of that

Provided Answers: 17
    Hello.
    You need to send a request to googles distance matrix API.

For example, you would send a URL request that would force a webpage at google to display the information you require in XML format.

So for example, I live in Waterford Ireland, and I want to find out how far it is to Dublin Ireland.

So this is the exact URL Request you would send.

Code:
    http://maps.google.com/maps/api/distancematrix/xml?origins=Waterford|Ireland&destinations=Dublin|Ireland&mode=driving&sensor=false