Exclamation Unanswered: Help! In-house program and can't access code

I've been hired on by my company to assist in their database issues. I am a DBA but the in-house program they've had written for them is far above my level of expertise. They've decided they want to go with one of two options, fix the coding problem that won't let them create a PDF or upgrade the system (currently 2003 Access platform, BACCO user interface) to Access 2010 platform. Essentially what I'm able to see is that BACCO is basically a GUI or Macros for Access. Problem is, I can't find a way to get into the code so I can fix the PDF problem. I've tried all programs that would logically work around a coding problem, ex: Win2PDF, with no luck. The records are currently backed up to an SQL Server however, the files that are backed up are ones that were recovered from a crash in August 2013. Not all files were recovered and some that were recovered aren't complete. I understand that part of the 'coding problem' could be just that the file path has been lost since the crash but, there again, I can't seem to get into the source code to even start to fix it. So since I am hitting a dead end there, I've started researching options to just do the upgrade. So here lies my question, if the owner is able to find an old 'blank' copy of BACCO, I bring that into Access 2012, and import the records, is it possible that the coding error would still exist? And furthermore, would that even be the route I would need to take to upgrade the system to 2010?
    This is a small company, only 10-15 employees. Running off an old Windows 2000 server, which will be upgraded as soon as the Access issue is addressed. Currently running off a router with static IP only, this issue is also in the process of being fixed.
    I know this is a lot of information and it seems like a lot of issues but, I am just needing some guidance as to what the best course of action would be.