Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Select statement in form returns related values, not unique values

Can someone take a look at my filter coding. When I give the form a value to search by, the subform returns all related values instead of exactly those that match. For instance, my form has a combo box to search for the appropriate name and populates the box with the name id. If I pick 3 John Smith from the pull down, and hit the search button, I get all matching records for 3 (John Smith), but also any records for name id's that begin with 3, such as 31 Leo Smith, to 39 Zach Smith and 300 (John Doe)! I think the problem is in the Select statement, but I'm not a programmer, so I can't figure out how to fix it. The query2 works perfect by itself, so I know it's not a problem with the query.

Private Sub Show_matching_Click()
    ' Create a WHERE clause using search criteria entered by user and
    ' set RecordSource property of Query2 subform.

Dim MySQL As String, MyCriteria As String, MyRecordSource As String
    Dim ArgCount As Integer
    Dim Tmp As Variant

' Initialize argument count.
    ArgCount = 0

' Initialize SELECT statement.
    MySQL = "SELECT * FROM query2 WHERE "
    MyCriteria = ""

' Use values entered in text boxes in form header to create criteria for WHERE clause.
    AddToWhere [Look For 1st Name], "[query cross names1].[name_id]", MyCriteria, ArgCount
    AddToWhere [Look For 2nd Name], "[query cross names2].[name_id]", MyCriteria, ArgCount
    AddToWhere [Look For 3rd Name], "[query cross names3].[name_id]", MyCriteria, ArgCount

'If no criterion specified, return all records.

If MyCriteria = "" Then
    MyCriteria = "True"
    End If

'Create SELECT statement

MyRecordSource = MySQL & MyCriteria

'Set RecordSource property of Query2 subform.

Me![Query2 subform].Form.RecordSource = MyRecordSource

'If no records match criteria, then display message.
    'Otherwise, move focus to the Clear button.