Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14

    Question Unanswered: Combo box limited by another

    I have three combo boxes - the 2nd is limited by value selected in the 1st. I need the 3rd to be limited by value selected in the 2nd, but it simply won't work. Is this not possible for some reason - CANNOT make this work - can see no reason why not.
    Last edited by DavidTayse; 06-16-14 at 05:59. Reason: simplify

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    There is no reason for not being able to do this, but you're there and we're here, and we have no idea of your data scheme, exactly what you want to do and what you've tried! We need some help if we're to help you.

    You either need to remove any confidential info, save the file in 2007 format (2003 is even better) so more people can look at it, ZIP it and post it here, as an attachment...or,
    at the least, post the code you're using for the Comboboxes.

    Linq ;0)>
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14

    dependent combo boxes

    I have three combo boxes - the 2nd is limited by value selected in the 1st. I need the 3rd to be limited by value selected in the 2nd, but it simply won't work. Is this not possible for some reason - CANNOT make this work - can see no reason why not. Pertinent sections of the file are attached.

    Thanks!! - David
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Sorry, Windows reports that your Zip file is empty!
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14

    dependent combo boxes

    I have three combo boxes - the 2nd is limited by value selected in the 1st. I need the 3rd to be limited by value selected in the 2nd, but it simply won't work. Is this not possible for some reason -... Thanks- David
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Threads merged



    Please do not start 'yet another' thread for the same topic.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    3

    need Suggestion

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidTayse View Post
    I have three combo boxes - the 2nd is limited by value selected in the 1st. I need the 3rd to be limited by value selected in the 2nd, but it simply won't work. Is this not possible for some reason - CANNOT make this work - can see no reason why not.
    How did you achieve to limit your second combo box based on value of 1st combo box

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14
    Private Sub cboSkillList_AfterUpdate()

    With Me![cboSubSkillList]
    If IsNull(Me!cboSkillList) Then
    .RowSource = ""
    Else
    .RowSource = "SELECT [SubSkill] " & _
    "FROM SubSkillList " & _
    "WHERE [SkillID]=" & Me!cboSkillList
    End If
    Call .Requery
    End With


    End Sub

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,442
    Provided Answers: 14
    Change the properties of the Combo SubSkillList, like this:
    - ColumnCount: 2
    - ColumnWidth: 0cm;5cm (or the equivalent in inches)
    - RowSource:
    Code:
    SELECT SubSkillList.SubSkillID, SubSkillList.SubSkill 
    FROM SubSkillList 
    ORDER BY SubSkillList.SubSkill;
    Have a nice day!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •