Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: sqlplus refuses to authenticate

    Hi, my sqwl plus from oracle 11.2.0.4-win-x64 instance refuses to run:

    Code:
    C:\>sqlplus "/as SYSDBA"
    
    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.4.0 Production on Sun Jun 15 22:10:39 2014
    
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2013, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
    
    ERROR:
    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
    
    
    Enter user-name: sqldba
    Enter password:
    ERROR:
    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
    What's wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >What's wrong?

    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied

    If what you posted is actually what you exactly did, then I suspect the password is NOT "as"

    below might work better for you

    sqlplus / as sysdba
    Last edited by anacedent; 06-15-14 at 18:48.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    That's what I initially thought, however:
    Code:
    C:\>sqlplus "/ as sysdba"
    
    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.3.0 Production on Mon Jun 16 08:11:50 2014
    
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2011, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
    
    
    Connected to:
    Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.3.0 - Production
    With the Partitioning, OLAP, Data Mining and Real Application Testing options
    
    SQL>
    Documentation says:
    Quote Originally Posted by Oracle
    If you enter a slash (/) (...) SQL*Plus logs you in using a default logon.
    So ... it appears that current default logon prevents you from connecting to the database using a slash.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    yes but the user didn't put a space between the slash and the word as and the default login puts you into as the sys user
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Ah, the space! Didn't notice that.

    However, the space doesn't make any difference:
    Code:
    C:\>sqlplus "/as sysdba"
    
    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.3.0 Production on Sat Jun 21 17:20:34 2014
    
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2011, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
    
    
    Connected to:
    Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.3.0 - Production
    With the Partitioning, OLAP, Data Mining and Real Application Testing options
    
    SQL>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    of course it makes a difference. You are now logged in as the SYS user. if you type

    select user from dual;

    you will see that.

    This is the administrative user in oracle. You can do critical damage if you do not know what you are doing in the SYS user. Be careful.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Yes, that's right - user is SYS.

    (I'm not doing anything with it, but thank you for the warning anyway).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by icegood View Post
    Hi,
    . . .
    What's wrong?
    Perhaps you did not say the "magic" word?
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Quote Originally Posted by Littlefoot View Post
    Yes, that's right - user is SYS.

    (I'm not doing anything with it, but thank you for the warning anyway).
    Littlefoot,
    I wasn't worried about you. I put in the warning for anyone who reads this thread.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •