Unanswered: Help programming validation rules to button

So I just wanted to start off by apologizing if this is posted in the wrong place or if im not using proper forum etiquette, im a complete noobie here.

that being said, here's a little background. I am building a database using MS Access that is meant to track inventory for a tooling shop. the database will have basic information on specific tooling, and inventory levels for replacement components for the tooling. The main table has all the information and includes a calculated field that concatenates the Tool number, a 3 letter disruption, the detail number, and the revision level (eg. WY201.PBU.233.A1) This field is used as the specific component ID for each piece in the tooling assembly. Typically this would be indexed, or set as the primary key but since its a calculated field access wont allow it.

In addition to the table is a form for end users to input new components into the main table. this form also has a calculated field for the Component ID based on the basic information on the form. I have also added a few buttons on the form for basic functionality such as "Clear entries", "save Entries", and "close form". Any part of the user interface, such as the form, needs to be absurdly simple and straight forward since the users are not very tech savvy.

On to the issue at hand.... the problem im having is in the programming for the "save entry" button on the form. I have attempted to make the button validate that the information on the form does not create a duplicate entry into the main table. it does this by comparing the calculated control for the component ID on the form to the calculated field on the table for the component ID. if the entry already exists then a message box should appear indicating a duplicate entry, if not, the entry should be saved to the table and then clear the form for a second entry. here is the actual VBA code...

Private Sub Save_Component_Entry_Click()