Question Database Design for tracking document signature

hello,
    i am new to this forum.
    i am looking for some help in designing a database system for a document tracker. it is a training project for me to develop my database design abilities for my new job.
    i am a newbie to the database design, although i have dome some basic ones in the past on my courses. but it was simpler ones like library system, purchase system, university system(student,lecturer,courses..).
    The scenario is as follows.
    "The Document Tracker was developed to provide an easy way to determine the physical location of paper documents that are being routed for signatures. Information is stored about each document that is being tracked, so this information can be retrieved at any time based on various search criteria. You can retrieve information about each stop a document makes in its routing path, identifying where and when it stopped, when it was sent on, and to whom it was sent. Users at a certain Access Level can define standard routing paths, which can subsequently be displayed as guidelines for routing. Information about the users of the software and the units involved in the tracking process is also stored, and can be retrieved by users at a certain Access Level.
    In order for the tracking process to work, each document must be entered into the system when it is created, and logged in and out of each physical location as it is being routed. The path a document follows as it is being routed from unit to unit is referred to as the "External Routing Path". Optionally, the "Internal Routing Path" within a unit may also be tracked. For internal routing, each person in the internal routing path must log the document in when they receive it and log it out when they pass it on. Friendly reminders, via e-mail, may be automatically sent to units or people who have held a document for too long, to encourage the routing of documents in a timely manner.
    "