Plumbing database design

I am new to creating databases. I am in a small department and was given the task of inventory control. I am trying to design a database for the supplies we have. We have a rather extensive inventory. It has alot of parts with same size but different material, same materials different size, and so on. What is the best way to make an inventory database for plumbing parts? Should I:

Parts Table:
    Type--(i.e, elbows, tee, ...)
    Material--(i.e, PVC, Brass, Galvanized)
    Size--(i,e, 1", 2", 4"...)
    Cost--
    Quantity--

or

Type Table:
    Elbows
    Tee
    Material Table:
    PVC
    Brass
    Galvanized
    Size Table:
    2"
    4"

and so on.
    I eventually want to tie it in with invoicing. Thanks in advanced for any help.

The "correct" design is the one that serves your needs. The "most correct" design is the one that serves your needs the best.

The design that you've started with seems fine to me. Does it address your needs?

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

I'm not sure, because I have so many parts with different sizes. There are so many combinations that 1 table would have so many fields to cover the inventory. I guess my questions is should I make each individual piece its own
    record. Such as 1" pvc elbow $.85, 3/4" galvanized coupling $1.05. or make different tables for size, piece, material and then cross reference to save from redundancy of size, type, and material. I'm trying to make it versatile as I can. Thanks for the quick reply.

Like most things in database design, it depends.

If you think of the size as a "thing" separate from pipe, fitting, elbow, etc. then you can (and probably should) use a table of sizes. This is probably a good idea, since you'll probably want to build your application to make it easy to deal with "half inch widgets" without regard to what the widget actually is.