Unanswered: Missing MySQL Database

Hello everybody,

First of all, please bear with me as I am quite new to HeidiSQL, MySQL, and the concept of relational databases as a whole. I recently started using HeidiSQL in order to create tables for import into QlikView. A couple of weeks ago I upgraded from Windows 8.1 from Windows 8.0. This resulted in a number of errors that hindered my already set agenda for how to import files from Excel into HeidiSQl.

First of all, upon trying to open a new HeidiSQL session I am met by an error message stating the following:

“Error: SQL Error (2003) in statement #0: Can't connect to MySQL server on '(localhost)' (10061)”
    Upon checking my MySQL workbench, I could see that my local server was not running, but was “stopped”. Attempting to start the server in the MySQL workbench did not help, however upon Googling the problem I managed to get the server running by finding the mysqld.exe file and running the file “as administrator”.

Getting the server running allowed me to start a session in HeidiSQL with the following details:
    - Network type: MySQL (TCP/IP)
    - Port: 3306
    - Databases: Separated by semicolon

However, the only databases that show up are “information_schema”, “mysql”, and “performance_schema” and not the database that I am looking for, namely “(databasename)”. In the MySQL workbench, the following “schemas” are visible; “information_schema” and “performance_schema”. My question is, how do I go about finding and opening/restoring the aforementioned database?

I was hoping that some of you might have experienced this problem and could shed some light on a solution. If any more information is need regarding my setup, please let me know.
    Thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 59
    search for where your db's are located
    its is installation specific, but will probably be in mysql\data prepended with where ever the MySQL directory is in your file structure