Unanswered: Looking for intermediate skill level short course (1 - 2) days in Melbourne (Aus)

Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to writing SQL queries, and do not consider myself to be a natural.

Late last year I studied a Unit called 'Introduction to Database Design' at Deakin University. This unit reflected the broad ANSI standard SQL (during theoretical studies), and Oracle SQL Plus (during practical studies). I did quite well in the unit, and now have a thorough understanding of the basic SQL concepts such as JOINs, UNIONs, etc.

This year I find myself working specifically with Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2, and related T-SQL syntax within my occupation. More specifically the company that I work for uses SAP Business One, and the underlying infrastructure at my work is MS SQL Server 2008 R2.

I would like to study some more SQL formally! My boss will probably back me in attending a one / two day course that deals specifically with T-SQL.

I am ideally looking to learn some 'intermediate' skills, such as CTEs, and Pivots. However performance of the SQL Server itself (such as Load Balancing, and Tuning) does not interest me.

I live in the Melbourne (Australia) and would like to find a suitable course in the CBD or surrounding suburbs.

If anybody can suggest any courses / course providers that are very good at teaching in my area can you please share. Finally my budget would probably be somewhere between $600 to $1000 for the course, but if the course comes with high recommendations I might be able to budget a little higher.

Any help and or recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

David
    Last edited by Darts75; 09-17-14 at 22:43. Reason: minor spelling change

Provided Answers: 10
    I don't know about courses but I would highly recommend buying this book: Simply SQL eBook: Rudy Limeback: Amazon.com.au: Kindle Store
    George
    Home | Blog

Provided Answers: 54