Provided Answers: 3

Answered: SQL 2008 Express owner/installer domain username change

Hello,

In my company, I have a SQL 2008 Express database that is the back-end to a MS Access front end application. I am a Domain Admin here, and have limited SQL knowlege. I've taken some SQL classes, but don't use it every day, so I don't know it well. A couple years ago, I had to bring this SQL database into my environment from another domain. I was able to restore it and we've been using it for a couple years now. The problem is, my username was just changed to reflect our account naming standard for domain admins. It used to be simply "mydomain\username", now it's changed to "mydomain\d-username" to easily identify a domain admin account with the leading "d-".

With that said, I no longer have any permissions to administer my SQL database. I only noticed when I went to add a new user, and noticed, all the other user accounts are missing! But, after polling the users, they've not been impacted..... yet.

When in SQL Server Management Studio, and browsing the Users for the database, I can see my old account name. For some reason, it is not updating the name change.
    I have restarted the server but, this had no effect.

I'm using standard Windows Authentication.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks!
    Pat

2. Best Answer
    Posted by padraig

"Thank you for helping. Unfortunately, this ended up helping me greatly.

Argenis Fernandez : Think Your Windows Administrators Don

Pat"

Provided Answers: 11
    You may need to rename your account back temporarily, but I am not sure. Since you renamed the account, the SID remains the same, but since the name does not match, you may be getting only guest permissions (which would be why you can not see any of the other logins). Did you set up the sysadmin account as a group, or as just your ID? If it is a group, this should not occur at all.