Unanswered: Automatically sequentially increasing ID number in table grouped by data in field

Hi. I have this Access 2007 db that I'm building to track multiple projects' progress. One of the tables I've created is for a RAID log. Ideally, I'd have a new RAID table created for every new project entered into the db but I'm not good at VBA and I've been told not to use VBA if I want to put it on SharePoint. So, instead, I have one RAID table for all projects. I can easily query the table for each project's RAID log but I want to have a sequential ID number for each project's RAID item.

I'd like it to look like this:

ID ProjectName RAID
    01 ProjOne blah blah
    01 ProjTwo Blah
    01 ProjThree Blahhhh
    02 ProjOne Another Blah
    03 ProjOne thing
    02 ProjThree ISSUE
    etc.

I thought of using DLookUp somehow but I couldn't figure out what the expression was that I needed. In Excel, I could do it pretty simply but this solution is eluding me. Could someone help me figure this out?

Thanks!
    Joker

Provided Answers: 59
    its down to you data design
    ...probably:-
    ProjectID
    RAIDID
    pk a composite of ProjectID and RAIDID

dmax is probably the domain function you need
    next RAIDID would be something like
    Code:
    dmax("RAIDID","mytable","ProjectID = " & requiredprojectID) +1
    ..supply a value in place or requireporjectID. it assuem that project ID is numeric, if its string then delimit with ' or "

...but you'd need to cater for a null value if the dmax function found NO rows matching the project ID
    Code:
    nz(dmax("RAIDID","mytable","ProjectID = " & requiredprojectID) +1,1)
    as to how you implement that within a macro beats me as I don't use macros
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thanks! I'll give it a try and see how that works.