Provided Answers: 6

Question Unanswered: Database Clean Up (New Environment)

First off my name is Patrick and I just signed up for this forum. I've been working with SSMS for ~2 years as a BA. I've been tasked to go through a database ~200 tables, some have relationships others do not, (report tables and backup tables). ***Sorry this is SSMS not MYSQL (I suppose cleanup is clean up in theory though).

I recently went through and identified all objects using sys.object and other variation of these elements to put together a dictionary of the database. This includes FK, PK, Data Types, Ordinal numbers, max length, constraints, etc.

Next I reversed engineered the database with Visio 2010 and started to separate the tables into logical groupings. For instances all backup tables went into one ERD, temp tables went into another etc. (Not # ## temp tables, just tables with the naming convention of temp in them). I also separated some ETL tables in it's own ERD.

Here is where I stand. Any advice or an approach you would recommend?

This is my first time cleaning up a database and while I understand the basics, don't delete tables and what all the different constraints etc are. I just don't have the high level approach in place. Any strategy or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
    Patrick
    Last edited by VLOOKUP; 10-14-14 at 15:13. Reason: Wrong RDBMS FORUM

Provided Answers: 11
    Next step would be publish the list of tables you want to dump to whatever user base is appropriate, and if there is no squeak of protest, go ahead and rename the tables, and remove permissions on those tables from whatever groups have access to them (in case you have users smart enough to get around the re-naming). The rename of the tables should sufficiently break any views, functions or stored procedures that refer to these tables. Just withdrawing permissions won't work as well, due to the permission checks on chains of ownership.

@MCrowley