Lightbulb Unanswered: Question on "load data into a MS access relational Database"

I'm fairly new to MS Access and recently working on what my boss call "load data into a MS access relational Database"

To do the job, I have build the empty tables (6 tables) with primary and foreign keys, linked the table with relationships and enforced the referential integrity.

Previously I loaded the data into Access table first, then created the relationships, after some manual data cleaning process I was able to link the tables with referential integrity. But now I create the relationship on empty tables first, and then try to "load" the data into these tables at once. So my question is if the latter is doable. If Yes, how shall I do it; If No, what shall I do to "load data into a MS access relational Database"

Note: I have all the data files ready, but it has inconsistencies and redundancies. Cleaning work will be needed before I can use the data. Please let me know what tools (like VBA, Access SQL) are recommended for the cleaning work.

Any suggestion or comments will be highly appreciated! Thank you everybody!

Dimitri

Provided Answers: 14
    First, I'll assert that you already know how to import data from the data files, as you do not mention anything about that process.

You could use a working schema such as:

1. Select the order in which the data files must be processed. As you defined relationships, data from a master (main) table must be imported before data from a related (child or secondary) table.

2. Import data into a temporary file.

3. Identify the rows that are already present in the database and those that are not. You can use the query builder wizards to have an idea on how to perform that: one wizard allows you to build a query to identify matching rows in two tables and one builds a query to identify non-matching rows in two tables.