Unanswered: Best way to learn.

Hello.

First of all sorry if this is not posted where it should.

Before you answer, you should know that I have no previous experience with databases, no previous training of any kind, everything is self thought in the last 4 - 5 months, currently I am working at a helpdesk and most of my activity revolves around doing CRUD scripts in a Oracle database. I want to progress a bit and start learning more about PL SQL. There are plenty of resources on the web to start learning from what I could find but my main issue right now is what to learn, I don't know where to start.

My plan for now is to start building a small database (3 - 5 tables) and get a better understanding of normalization and foreign keys, since right for me is just at the concept level. after that start implementing some data constraints on the table, and move on to triggers, stored procedures, ect and develop from there, maybe build some forms to connect to the server ? (or I am to ambitions to start with ?)

I installed a MS SQL Server on my pc with an Adventure Work and trying to get the hang of it., but before I continue with this I would like to know if working on if working with MS SQL Server is a "bad" idea or should I install an Oracle database. (is it that big of a difference that would otherwise impact my learning? I am referring to coding, is such a big difference between T and PL SQL?).
    Basically, what I need here is the order that I should learn it and what would be the most organic way.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    Saying that Oracle & MS SQL Server are both RDBMS, it is like saying both oil & water are both liquids.
    Knowing how one behaves won't necessarily let you know/guess how the other behaves.

More often than not, only the most senior and experienced folks ever need to design & worry about data normalization.