Unanswered: Using single talking marks (') with Dynamic SQL?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Dynamic SQL and have become quite stuck regarding how to included aliases which have spaces in my query. A related issue, which I believe also revolves around the use of single talking marks (') within Dynamic SQL is how to include argument values and variables in my queries.

From my limited research it 'feels like' what I need to do is the opposite of ESCAPE sequencing...

My issue is better explained through some code samples.

Each of the samples below assume the use of a variable within the overall query, e.g.: DECLARE @SQL nvarchar(max)

Here is a sample from a working query (excuse the brevity)

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2em08ep.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	30.8 KB 
ID:	15944

Now if I put a space into the Alias name as shown below the query will not run...

Name:	x0wkti.jpg 
Size:	31.9 KB 
ID:	15945

Similarly I am wondering how to go about assigning variables, within for example a WHERE clause?

Name:	jax2jn.jpg 
Size:	24.4 KB 
ID:	15946

Any help with the above broad questions will be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Davo

Provided Answers: 4
    For the second SQL, replace
    as 'bin col'
    by
    as [bin col].

For the third SQL, PRINT your statement instead of executing it.
    I guess you use something like:

Code:
    DECLARE @SQL VARCHAR(500) 
    DECLARE @date	DATE

SET @SQL = 'SELECT col1, COL2 
    			FROM table1'

SELECT @date = max(date1) from table2

SET @SQL = @SQL +
    			'WHERE col1 <=' + @date

--EXEC(@SQL)
    PRINT @SQL
    Only uncomment
    --EXEC(@SQL)
    and comment out
    PRINT @SQL
    once you are 100% sure the query works (like you have copy and pasted it into SSMS and it gives you the results you expect). This way you will notice all errors in the generated SQL script.
    In the example I gave, there is a space missing between "FROM table1"' and "WHERE col1". Only with a PRINT it becomes obvious.