Unanswered: composite primary key

Hi Guys,

I am new to Database and Postgresql.

I created an ERD diagram to store information on students, parents, teachers and schools, part of my design instead of having address for each entity I create a new entity called address and contains a composite primary key from (studentID, partentID, techerID, schoolID), streetName, suburb, postcode and state:

• Student can have one or more Address
    • Parent can have one or more Address
    • Teacher can have one or more Address
    • School can have one or more Address

I used this method avoid the redundancy for address, and I created the tables for each (student, parent, teacher, school, address) then I populated the tables with values using “INSERT VALUE” statement, but I have problem now when I am inserting values for address because I have enter the (studentID, partentID, techerID, schoolID) for each row and the issue is say for instance a studentID and prentID may have the address but for the teacher and school may have different address.

I designed the database to have a separate entity for address and with composite primary key from (studentID, partentID, techerID, schoolID), but after populating the values for the address table how do I know which address belongs to whom, because I have to have 4 IDs from the (studentID, partentID, techerID, schoolID), I am really confuse.

Thank you in advance.

Hi and welcome!

You probably should start by reading a book on database design, like Elmasri & Navathe's "Fundamentals of database design".

With the details you've provided, I though you could approach the situation with these kind of relations:

STUDENT(id, ...)
    TEACHER(id, ...)
    PARENT(id, ...)
    SCHOOL(id, ...)
    ADDRESS(city, street, state, zip, suburb, id)