Unanswered: Major noobie question - combining first and last names in form

I'm new to Access, so bear with me, please.

I have one table with thousands of names. The first field is ContributorInfoT, where everyone receives their Autonumber ID. Every person has the ability in our workplace to complete a Hazard Elimination card, which contains things like Date, Time, Name, Company, etc. I have created a separate table called HazardEliminationT, which also has an Autonumber field, just because.

Both of my tables have fields for FirstName and LastName. Is this a good idea, first of all?

Secondly, I'd like to create a form wherein I can enter the Hazard Elimination card information in to HazardEliminationT. The thing is, I need to be able to click in the Name box on my form and have a joined First and Last name (which is pulled from ContributorInfoT. I just can't for the life of me figure it out. I'd like it to autocomplete.

Any thoughts on this?

Provided Answers: 59
    store the first & lastname as separate columns (values)
    they a\re easy enough to merge back into one 'value' (but dont' STORE that merged value.

why store as separate elements?
    well its easy enough to create a single compound value
    soemtimes you may want to show data as forename lastname, soem,times the toher way round. ferisntance you may want a report in surname order, but dispaly the names in the report as forename, surname. if you store it as a compound value it can be tricky, unless say you store as surname, forename and then that measn you can't display it (easily as humans would recognise as forenames surname...
    ..y'get the picture

in a combo box set the orwsource to be the person ID, surname & "; " & forename
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thanks for your help

I'm still not sure it's working like I need it to.