Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    35

    Unanswered: perform cold restore without prompting for tape

    hello,

    i am currently running Informix 11.7 on an AIX6.1 machine and i need to do cold restore of my informix instance for backup purposes using the ontape utility.
    in order to finish the cold restore i must use a lot log tapes. is there a way to define all the log tapes that i am going to use for the cold restore from the command line so that i dont get prompt to insert a new tape and press enter all the time? it will save a lot of time if i can do this.

    thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pont l'Abbé, Brittany, France
    Posts
    381
    Provided Answers: 1
    Tuccero,

    you are reaching the limits on ontape: ontape is very simple, but does not have the functionality that onbar has.
    With onbar, you will not have such problems, it is a real backup/restore tool

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    35
    ok thank you very much begooden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pont l'Abbé, Brittany, France
    Posts
    381
    Provided Answers: 1
    Tuccero,


    you may like one one the new onbar enhancements in 12.10: Primary Storage Manager

    To make it short, onbar made as easy as ontape if you store your backups on filesystems

    check here

    With this tool, there is for me no more reason not to use onbar.

    Eric

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    35
    Begooden,

    Thank you for your helpful link and advices. However, as you mentioned this is possible in Informix 12.10.
    I am currently running Informix 11.7-FC2 and the latest plan for update is to version 11.7-FC8.
    So i guess that for these versions i can do this using onbar but without the new features that are mentioned in the link?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pont l'Abbé, Brittany, France
    Posts
    381
    Provided Answers: 1
    Tuccero,

    yes this is correct. You wont't have PSM in 11.70 FC8 but you can use onbar anyhow.

    Why not go 12.10 ? FC5 will be released in a few weeks and with 12.10, you have many interesting new features, among them compatibily with NoSQL MongoDb on a real database engine...
    Performance enhancements are also significant, introduction of OLAP SQL functions and much more....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •