Question Unanswered: Database Backup - SQL Server Question

Hello everybody. My name is Edward and I am a systems administrator with a real estate company in the Buffalo, NY area.

We utilize a property management tool named Yardi/Voyager for our properties scattered across the area. I have been working closely with Yardi to handle different technical matters. The problem I am running into is the fact that the Director of IT resigned from the company 3 weeks ago. This has left me in a position to run the entire IT department by myself with only 4 months of experience in the IT world.

The only way Yardi is able to help me is by backing up our live database from our SQL server, compressing the file and then sending it to them via FTP server. The size of our database is roughly 26 GB's. We utilize Windows Server 2008. I do not have enough space on the SQL server to do an actual full live backup.

Is there a way to connect a large flash drive to the server somehow so I can backup this database or utilize another way to backup somewhere other than the SQL server which doesn't have enough space? I notice that you can copy from a local disk and paste into the server but you can't do it the other way around. I can't just copy a file from the server and place it locally. Or is there a way to send this backup to my local computer where there is enough room? Our last database backup was back in November. Any suggestions on how to handle this matter?

Provided Answers: 11
    Welcome to the forum. I think we have all been thrown into the fire in somewhat similar ways to how you describe. Let the learnin' begin! ;-)